Hims ED Review: Trusted Insights 2024

May 13, 2024
Fact Checked
After a brief questionnaire, Hims will deliver erectile dysfunction medication to your door in just a few days. Find out what the platform offers and how you can get ED medication.
Written by Mikayla Morell
Medically reviewed by: Matt Coward, MD
Hims
Quick and discreet ED medication delivery
In-depth information pages for ED medications
Prescribes generic and name-brand ED medications, including Viagra, Cialis, and Stendra

It may be difficult to talk to your doctor about erectile dysfunction. Although this is a common, treatable condition, many men* hesitate to seek care because of feelings of embarrassment, shame, or discomfort. In our January 2024 survey of men with erectile dysfunction (ED), 64% of respondents reported that they felt shame about their ED. Additionally, some men just accept their symptoms as something that occurs with aging

“I have some patients in their 70s and 80s, and sometimes they say, ‘Am I too old to be worrying about this?’ And I’ll say, ‘If not now, when? Why not have the best sex of your life in your 80s?’” said Amy Pearlman, MD, urologist and co-founder of Prime Institute. 

ED treatment is available and can be administered in a way that maintains your privacy and helps you feel more comfortable about seeking care. Hims, for instance, is a platform that offers treatment for erectile dysfunction without meeting in person with a health care provider. We thoroughly reviewed Hims to help you determine if it could be the right platform for you. 

*For brevity, we refer to all people assigned male at birth as men throughout this guide. 

Hims
Key features
  • ED meds available: Cialis (tadalafil), Viagra (sildenafil), Stendra (avanafil), Levitra (vardenafil), and more
  • Price range: Cost varies per medication and dosage
  • Consultation price: Free
  • FDA-approved: Some medications are FDA-approved
  • Shipping time: Two to five business days
Pros & cons
Pros In-depth informational pages for each medication Customer service is responsive and helpful Quick ED medication delivery Flags emergency messages for providers Cons Hard mints and chews are not FDA-approved Questionnaire is not as thorough as an exam with a health care provider Doesn’t accept health insurance

Our Hims experience

After testing 25 platforms for erectile dysfunction treatment and medication, we think Hims is a convenient, affordable choice for discreet access to ED medication. For this research and review process, we shopped online, spoke to experts, and conducted focus groups with men who have used Hims and similar telehealth platforms. We did so to get in-depth and firsthand feedback about their experience meeting with providers, receiving a diagnosis, and getting prescriptions for medications like Viagra (sildenafil) and Cialis (tadalafil). 

If you have other health conditions or severe ED symptoms, we recommend speaking to your primary health care provider first before using Hims.

Our expert opinion

Overall, we had a positive experience with Hims. The signup process was quick yet thorough, and every time we reached out to customer service through the chat feature, we received a prompt, detailed response from a human representative rather than a chatbot. 

We were impressed by how Hims responds to emergency or urgent messages. According to customer service, the platform will flag your message if it detects a time-sensitive matter. When the message is flagged, your provider will see it before other messages. Even though ED medication side effects are rare, this message feature can add peace of mind that if you need to get a hold of your provider quickly, the platform will make that happen seamlessly. 

A couple of our focus group participants noted that they chose Hims because it seemed to be one of the least intrusive online platforms for ED medication. 

quote icon

“I looked for a site that was less intrusive and asked for less personal information. So that helped me a lot. I have a technology background, so I wanted to make sure it was secure before I transacted with them. That was my main reason for choosing Hims.” – Focus group participant

We also appreciated how easy it was to read about the different medication offerings. Each medication has its own page on the Hims website that lists basic information about it, like how to take it, potential side effects, and how the drug works. 

There’s also a list of frequently asked questions you may have about the medication. We think this should be included on any online platform that prescribes medication. If you want to learn more about each treatment option, Hims makes the information easily accessible. 

Special considerations: erectile dysfunction medication for older adults

Viagra and Cialis may be ineffective or dangerous based on your health history and current medications.

Some of the most common chronic conditions affecting older adults—including high blood pressure, high cholesterol, heart disease, and diabetes—can damage penile blood vessels and nerves, leading to new or worsening ED that doesn’t respond to Viagra or Cialis [1] Mayo Clinic. Erectile Dysfunction. . Fortunately, several other ED treatments are available, including penile injections, vacuum erection devices, and a discreet penile prosthesis. [2] McMahon C, et al. Treating Erectile Dysfunction When PDE5 Inhibitors Fail. BMJ. March 11, 2006.

ED can also appear as one of the first symptoms of cardiovascular disease, hypertension, anxiety, and other chronic health concerns. [3] Capogrosso P, et al. Erectile Dysfunction in Young Patients is a Proxy of Overall Men’s Health Status. Current Opinion in Urology. 2016 If you haven’t had a physical exam within the last year, don’t try to get ED medication online. Visit your doctor in person to ensure underlying conditions are diagnosed and treated alongside ED. 

Who shouldn’t take Viagra or Cialis

Viagra and Cialis shouldn’t be taken with some of the medications used to treat chest pain, high blood pressure, or lower urinary tract symptoms. Viagra should also be avoided in men taking protease inhibitors—a specific class of medications used to treat HIV. 

Combining nitrates or alpha-blockers with ED pills may cause a severe, life-threatening drop in blood pressure, which can be associated with feeling dizzy, fainting, falling, and even death. 

This is not a complete list of medications that should not be taken with Viagra and Cialis. Talk to your provider about everything you take—including recreational drugs—when discussing potential ED treatments. 

Cialis and Viagra also shouldn’t be taken by people with low resting blood pressure, uncontrolled high blood pressure, inherited disorders of the eye or retina, recent heart attack or stroke, or uncontrolled heart disease. Cialis and Viagra may worsen abdominal pain in men with stomach ulcers. 

Hims medication package of generic Viagra in front of a tan background.

What is Hims?

Hims is an online platform that prescribes medications for conditions related to sexual health, mental health, and skin and hair care. This includes erectile dysfunction, hair loss, anxiety, and depression. The platform allows users to quickly access prescription medication after a brief questionnaire and consultation with a health care provider.

Hims cost

Here is an overview of the FDA-approved ED medications offered through Hims and the associated costs. 

MedicationDosagesTypeWhen to takeCost per pillFDA Approved
Cialis5 mgStandard pillDaily$32Yes
Generic Cialis (tadalafil)2.5 mg and 5mg (daily), and 20mg (as needed)Standard pillDaily or as needed$1.07–$4.50Yes
Viagra50 mgStandard pillAs needed$139Yes
Generic Viagra (sildenafil)100 mgStandard pillAs needed$4–$5.50Yes

Generic medications like tadalafil and sildenafil cost less than the name brand. These medications are essentially the same in terms of ingredients and effects, but different pharmaceutical companies make them. 

Hims offerings

Hims offers generic and brand-name ED medications, including Cialis (tadalafil), Viagra (sildenafil), and Levitra (vardenafil). These medications are FDA-approved and effective in the ED treatment. 

Hims medication offerings that can be taken daily
Hims offers numerous generic and brand-name erectile dysfunction medications

One of the main benefits of Hims is that the platform ships medication directly to your door for free in discreet packaging. This can help if you have mobility issues or difficulty obtaining transportation to the pharmacy. In our January 2024 survey, 89% of Hims users reported that they received their medication in packaging that didn’t have any obvious branding from the platform to maintain privacy. The medication takes two to five business days to arrive. 

If you have questions about your medication, you can message your provider anytime. You can expect to hear back from them within 48 hours. You may be able to switch medication simply by messaging your provider, but some states require that you make a follow-up appointment. Follow-up appointments are free through Hims. 

Viagra (sildenafil)

Hims provides both brand-name and generic options for Viagra. It’s important to underscore that brand-name Viagra is the most expensive choice for ED medication through Hims, costing $139 per pill. The generic choice, sildenafil, contains the same ingredients as the brand-name pill and will cost $4–$5.50 per pill. 

Viagra is taken as needed 30 minutes to four hours before sexual stimulation. [4] MedlinePlus. Sildenafil. Aug. 15, 2023 You should take Viagra on an empty stomach since food—especially foods high in fat—can decrease its effectiveness. 

Cialis (tadalafil)

Generic Cialis (tadalafil) is the most affordable option through Hims at $1.07–$4.50 per pill, and it can be taken as needed or daily, depending on your needs and preferences. [5] MedlinePlus. Tadalafil. April 15, 2023 You can take the medication 30 minutes before sexual activity, and it is safe to take on an empty stomach. 

If you prefer to take the medication daily, you can choose the monthly subscription plan. The three-month plan costs $49 per month or $1.67 per pill. You can take Cialis at any time during the day, but you should try to take it at the same time every day for it to be the most effective. 

Hard mints and chews

Hims also offers ED medication as a chew or a mint. Chews and mints may provide an additional layer of convenience and discretion, but it’s important to note these are compounded drugs, which are not FDA-approved. [6] FDA. Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers. June 29, 2022 Compounded drugs are medications that may combine, mix, or alter the ingredients to create a personalized medication for the patient. The FDA does not verify the safety or effectiveness of these drugs, so there is a risk of drug contamination or too much of an active ingredient, which can lead to serious health effects. 

We recommend that you stick to the standard pills that Hims offers. These medications are FDA-approved, so you can be reassured about their safety. If you have trouble swallowing pills, you should talk to your doctor about alternative ED treatments. 

How to sign up for Hims

You can sign up for Hims through the website or mobile app. First, you will complete a questionnaire detailing your medical history and symptoms. We entered all of our information in less than three minutes, and our focus group participants said it took them less than one minute. 

After the questionnaire, you can choose your medication. If you are unsure about the medication offerings, Hims provides extensive information on each drug, including instructions for how to take it, any potential side effects, and how the medication works. 

Questionnaire asks about your sex assigned at birth
Once you sign up for Hims, you must complete a questionnaire detailing your medical history and symptoms.

We thoroughly reviewed the gold standard for erectile dysfunction treatment from the American Urological Association (AUA) and compared their diagnosis and treatment process to Hims. The AUA recommends that people with erectile dysfunction symptoms should have an in-depth medical, sexual, and psychosocial evaluation in addition to a physical exam and lab testing. The AUA also recommends requiring a questionnaire to assess the severity of ED symptoms and determine what treatment might help. 

The only element that Hims includes in their diagnosis process is the questionnaire. While we were impressed by the thoroughness of the questions, in-person elements like lab testing and physical exams are not included. Due to this gap, we recommend visiting your health care provider for an ED diagnosis and treatment plan. That way, if the Hims diagnosis process misses something, your doctor can help modify your health plan.

After receiving a prescription for medication, you can obtain it from a pharmacy or an online platform like Hims. For some people, purchasing ED medication through an online telehealth platform may be more affordable long-term since follow-up visits with your provider are not required.

quote icon

“Each time I had to interact with my primary care physician related to erectile dysfunction, I was paying a copay and then having to pay for the prescription. Whereas going online through one of the services eliminated the copay piece.” – Focus group participant

Hims contact and payment information

Customer service

You can reach Hims customer service through the following methods:

Payment options

Credit card payment options include Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, JCB, and Diners Club. Hims does not accept HSA and FSA cards. 

How we research and evaluate erectile dysfunction platforms

Based on our expert consultations, research, and testing, we determined the following factors to be essential for our readers when signing up for an erectile dysfunction medication platform:

We had all of our reviews medically reviewed by an expert in the field to ensure the information is appropriate for NCOA readers’ needs.

Bottom line

Hims is a solid choice for people seeking discreet, convenient, and reasonably affordable treatment for erectile dysfunction. The website provides thorough information on each ED medication. We suggest sticking to the standard ED medications since the chews and mints are not FDA-approved. 

When signing up for Hims, a provider will review your questionnaire to assess you for treatment, but you don’t receive a comprehensive visit, exam, or lab testing. Because of potential gaps in care, we recommend talking to your doctor about your symptoms before signing up for Hims, especially if you have other underlying health conditions, take other medications, or have severe ED symptoms.

Frequently asked questions

Hims offers Viagra (sildenafil) as one of their treatment options for erectile dysfunction.

Many erectile dysfunction medications through Hims are FDA-approved, including Cialis (tadalafil), Viagra (sildenafil), and Stendra (avanafil). The only ED Hims products that are not FDA-approved are the hard mints and the chewables.

Side effects of Hims ED medication will vary depending on the type of medication. Some side effects may include headaches, upset stomach, nausea, and back or muscle pain.

Sources

  1. Mayo Clinic. Erectile Dysfunction. Found on the Internet at https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/erectile-dysfunction/symptoms-causes/syc-20355776
  2. McMahon C, et al. Treating Erectile Dysfunction When PDE5 Inhibitors Fail. BMJ. March 11, 2006. Found on the internet at https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1397768/
  3. Capogrosso P, et al. Erectile Dysfunction in Young Patients is a Proxy of Overall Men’s Health Status. Current Opinion in Urology. 2016. Found on the internet at https://journals.lww.com/co-urology/abstract/2016/03000/erectile_dysfunction_in_young_patients_is_a_proxy.5.aspx
  4. MedlinePlus. Sildenafil. Aug. 15, 2023. Found on the internet at https://medlineplus.gov/druginfo/meds/a699015.html
  5. MedlinePlus. Tadalafil. April 15, 2023. Found on the internet at https://medlineplus.gov/druginfo/meds/a604008.html 
  6. FDA. Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers. June 29, 2022. Found on the internet at https://www.fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/compounding-and-fda-questions-and-answers
  7. Burnett A, et al. Erectile Dysfunction: AUA Guideline (2018). American Urological Association. Found on the internet at https://www.auanet.org/guidelines-and-quality/guidelines/erectile-dysfunction-(ed)-guideline 
Mikayla Morell is a health and wellness writer who is passionate about spreading reliable, accessible, and informative health information to people of all backgrounds and identities.
Matt Coward Medical Reviewer
Dr. Matt Coward is a board-certified urologist specializing in reproductive urology whose areas of expertise are men’s health and male infertility.
Susan Stiles
Susan Stiles Reviewer
Susan Stiles, PhD, provides leadership in the design and development of consumer products that inspire, educate, and activate older adults. She’s been instrumental in bringing the Aging Mastery Program® to market and scaling it nationwide via strategic alliances and business partnerships. Stiles has 20+ years of experience in design thinking, multimedia, strategic communications, and management consulting.
Was this helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!